Never Hurry and Never Worry

“Why did you do all this for me?’ he asked. ‘I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.’ ‘You have been my friend,’ replied Charlotte. ‘That in itself is a tremendous thing.  I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die. A spider’s life can’t help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that.”

“Wilbur never forgot Charlotte. Although he loved her children and grandchildren dearly, none of the new spiders ever quite took her place in his heart. She was in a class by herself. It is not often that someone comes along who is a true friend and a good writer. Charlotte was both.”

E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

Climbed Capitol…FINALLY!  It was a day for the books for sure!  I got a ride up to the trailhead.  I didn’t even think about asking for one, but someone just came by and said, “Hop in!”  It was a nice couple in a fancy SUV.  With that, the day started out Ace!  The approach flew by, it was easy terrain and it was straightforward.  Making the way up to K2 was just a matter of boulder hopping.  The ridge was scrambley and fun, albeit loose in a few spots.  The knife Edge was fun and got the old ticker beating just fast enough to convince me that I still have some life left in me!  I had the summit to myself, the weather was perfect…no grumpy clouds.  Headed back down after basking in the sun for a little bit.  Saw a big rascal of a bear right by the trail.  When I got to the upper trailhead, a voice in the dark said, “Hey!  You want a peach!?”  A nice peach farmer and his friends gave me some free juicy peaches.  They asked me how many people were in my hiking party and I told them that it was just me.  “Are you fucking shitting me!?  You just did this by yourself!?  And all in one day!?”  They asked me for my info for future hiking adventures and gave me a ride down to my car at the lower parking area.  They were a lively fun bunch!  It felt like they were characters from a book.  Sometimes it’s all very surreal and I feel like maybe I dreamed about this before it all happened, but I can’t quite remember…can’t quite tell if my mind is just playing tricks on me.  Whatever all this is…it’s a good trick or a good dream or a good book; full of highs and lows and laughs and magic.

20160815_104833~2

The Bells

0814161230c

Below Capitol Peak

0814161410~2

The Ascent of Capitol

0814161802a

0814161410e~2

More of Cap

0814161425a~2

That one famous spot…Knife Edge

0814161622e~2

Nothing but views

0814161523~2

Summit

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

