An expert on yourself

I was thinking about the idea that if you know yourself through and through, then there is less room for uncertainty in the unknown elements outside of yourself.  I think there is a big difference in the usefulness of being selfish and self-knowing.  If you don’t even know yourself, how can you come to understand anything else?  Being self-knowing serves both you and the people/circumstances that you meet throughout life.  Say you find yourself in unfamiliar territory, a challenging situation…if you know yourself and how you have reacted to other difficulties prior to this experience, then you can eliminate fear and anxiety.  Most irrational decisions come from either fear or anger, and since you have nothing to fear or be anxious/angry about then you can be almost certain that you will act in a constructive manner.  Spend time with yourself, penetrate the surfaces that you have allowed to collect dust.  Learn from you past, and use it to fuel your present.  Perhaps, you will not always know exactly what to do, but knowing what not to do can lead you on a surprisingly clear path.  A lot of people struggle with their goals.  If you are like me, I can almost always reach a goal…but I almost always fail to maintain it.  I then find myself back at square one thinking, that if I just do exactly what I did the last time to get me to my goal, I’ll be back there in no time.  I end up being right, but what I don’t account for is the fact that this path lead me to my goal in an unsustainable way…then I end up back at square one again. Now, however, I know what does not work and what works to a certain degree.  From this I can calmly face the drawing board and start again.  Am I fearful? No. Am I uncertain of the exact results? Yes.  Am I certain that the path and the results will reveal important information to me? Yes.  So there is nothing to fear, and there is everything to learn.  One journey or one experience can help me learn how to use certain tools that may be useful for my next journey!  I try to keep that in mind when I think I have failed at something.  As long as I have learned something, then I have certainly made progress for future endeavors.

Know yourself!  Take pride in the work that most people will never see.  Take pride in the fact that you have the strength and the courage to explore your failures and your dark side, absorb all the constructive things you can learn from past mistakes and accomplishments alike.  If there is one thing in life that is worth becoming an expert on, it is becoming an expert on yourself.  If you learn who you are and how to utilize who you are, then you can more easily enrich other people and other components in your life.  The better you know yourself, the better parent, teacher, student, etc. you will be.

(remember it isn’t about becoming something or someone that other people admire, it is about self-knowledge and learning how to utilize that knowledge in a way that enriches your life  and strengthens your capabilities.  Don’t do anything for the predicted results.  Act on knowledge not aspirations.  The results will always be uncertain until the end, but your actions are certain and permanent the moment you commit to them).

Standard

Leave a Reply

